Easy Steps To Obtain A Common Law Marriage

Easy Steps To Obtain A Common Law Marriage

Easy Steps To Obtain A Common Law Marriage
The steps required in order to obtain a common law marriage vary between the 12 states/districts in which they are currently recognized within the United States of America. These states/districts include: Alabama, Colorado, Washington D.C., Iowa, Kansas, Montana, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, and Utah.
In order to be considered for a valid and recognized common law marriage within these 12 jurisdictions, the following details regarding residential cohabitation are taken into consideration:
The couple must be participating in a residential cohabitation. In other words, the couple in question must live together.
The two must possess, utilize, and file a statement of joint income. This adds validity and seriousness to the relationship in question in the eyes of many legislative bodies.
The couple in question must have lived together for a ‘significant duration of time’. However, there is no definitive amount of time specified in any state legislature. 
The couple must have the intent to eventually wed.




Related Articles

Read previous post:
Writ of Certiorari: All You Need to Know